Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Nitecore MH10S Long-Term Review

us Offline nate j

• No Life Club
Nitecore MH10S Long-Term Review
on: July 09, 2023, 07:02:11 AM
I’ve been carrying the MH10S pretty much daily for more than six months now, and have had the opportunity to take it on several camping trips.  Overall, I’m fairly happy with it.  Here are my thoughts to date:

Pros
- While certainly larger than some would want to EDC, it is pretty compact for a 21700 flashlight.
- Water and impact resistant (should be table stakes for any flashlight these days, but hey)
- Simple and intuitive UI - This is important, as I don’t want to be out camping or working after dark and have the flashlight accidentally get stuck in some programming mode or submenu that I can’t navigate out of without help from the manual.
- Built in charging port - I love this feature, as I don’t need a separate battery charger and I don’t have to take the battery out to charge it.  Just a few strategically stashed USB-C cables and I’m good to go.
- Low battery indicator (another feature I feel should be standard on virtually all modern flashlights)
- The turbo and high modes (rated at 1800 and 1050 lumens, respectively) are good for searching, trying to see things at a distance, and just showing off to your friends.
- Depending on how well adjusted my eyes are to the dark, I usually find either the mid or low mode (rated at 300 and 50 lumens, respectively) to be good for general outdoor nighttime navigation.
- The 1 lumen ultralow mode is enough light for most close-up tasks with eyes that are adjusted to the dark, but can generally be used in a room or tent where others are sleeping without disturbing them.  It’s a good brightness when out camping and nature calls in the middle of the night.  And with a rated runtime of 1000 hours, it can be used as a nightlight on weeklong camping trips without significantly draining the battery.