Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Which tool?

Offline Yennork

• New User
Which tool?
on: December 24, 2009, 03:02:56 PM
Ok as you can see from my post count I am a complete newbie to these forums and I apologise in advance if I have posted this in the wrong place.

Although I know it is to late now, I was planning on getting my brother a multitool for a christmas present. It started off well enough but I soon became bewildered by the amount of coice there was. I couln't even decide which of the brands to go for and I was wondering if you guys could help narrow down my choices.

I mostly want something outdoor-ey. He already has a gransfors brucks axe,a knife and a crook knife so what i want is a tool that can do the jobs these tools can't. I'd think pliers would be more useful than scissors and as he has a good knife a blade isn't neccessary. Wire cutters would also be very useful. This would't be so much for DIY or vehicle repairs but as he enjoys making things out of wood anything that could help him with that would be a plus.

Thanks for reading this and any advice would be much appreciated.

Merry Christmas

gb Offline Mike, Lord of the Spammers!

• Chief of the Absolutely No Life Club!
  • Abandon All Hope Ye Who Enter Here...
  • Why haven't you got a Farmer yet!
Re: Which tool?
Reply #1 on: December 24, 2009, 03:06:29 PM
First up, welcome to the forum mate :)

If he likes working with wood, then a Victorinox Swisstool or Spirit might suit him as they come complete with a chisel, and a VERY effective double cut saw :)

A Victorinox Farmer would make an excellent woodsman's knife, and being non locking, it's completely legal to edc in the UK :)
Give in, buy several Farmer's!!!!!!

no Offline Medic82

• No Life Club
  • You will not laugh! You will not cry!
Reply #2 on: December 24, 2009, 03:27:03 PM
Welcome to the forum!