Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Blunt serrated blade, why?

jzmtl · 16 · 2395

ca Offline jzmtl

• Absolutely No Life Club
Blunt serrated blade, why?
on: March 22, 2008, 10:14:48 PM
Seems it's the new trend here, making serrated blade with blunt tip, or no tip at all. Leatherman does it, Gerber does it, not sure about others since I don't have their multitool. But why? Seems to me it's kinda stupid. Maybe it's for safety for cutting people out of seatbelt/clothing? But how often does average multitool users do that? And if I had to do it for a living, I'd have something more dedicated than a serrated blade on multiool.

gb Offline Mike, Lord of the Spammers!

• Chief of the Absolutely No Life Club!
  • Abandon All Hope Ye Who Enter Here...
  • Why haven't you got a Farmer yet!
Re: Blunt serrated blade, why?
Reply #1 on: March 22, 2008, 10:17:56 PM
I know what you mean, but thats market forces for you ::) if the mall ninja's want one knife for killing and another for rescuing, the MT manufactures would be fools to ignore it :)
Give in, buy several Farmer's!!!!!!

ca Offline Grant Lamontagne

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
  • Optimum instrumentum est inter aures
Reply #2 on: March 22, 2008, 10:51:57 PM
What do you need a point for?  If you are poking at things, you should probably be using the awl.  If it doesn't feature an awl, you should probably be using another tool!

Def
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

ca Offline jzmtl

Reply #3 on: March 22, 2008, 11:20:52 PM
But why not? Sometimes I do need the point to poke into things to start the cut.

• Head Turd Polisher
  • Administrator
  • Just Bananas
Reply #4 on: March 22, 2008, 11:23:05 PM
What about using the scissors?

Def
Leave the dents as they are- let your belongings show their scars as proudly as you do yours.

Reply #5 on: March 22, 2008, 11:24:16 PM