Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Meditation

wales Offline caninesapien

Meditation
on: April 20, 2017, 03:01:23 PM
Hi all

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum section - was considering putting it in the Outdoors section. Oh well - change location if required!

Does anyone practice any meditation/mindfulness techniques, especially when out and about (hiking, bivvying, camping etc)? I've had some experience with mindfulness from an issue I faced last year but I'm not 100% on how effective it is. Similarly, I've tried a few meditation techniques but they don't seem to be working so much either.

Just interested to see if anyone practices anything like this, when out alone in the wilderness - specifically something to centre the mind and focus properly.

Any advice greatly appreciated!

us Offline Aloha

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
Re: Meditation
Reply #1 on: April 20, 2017, 03:27:52 PM
I meditate tho not necessarily when out.  What I've learned is quieting the mind for me is not my goal.  I'll PM you and we'll discuss what techniques I use and some resources.  I can tell you that like anything you have to regularly practice to "master". 
Esse Quam Videri

nl Offline glenfiddich1983

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • aka "G-Fiddle" and "Glen-Fizzle"
Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 03:32:00 PM
I don't have any real experience with meditation and mindfulness, but when I'm out in the wilderness (or any other nice outside environment), instead of "staying inside my head" I try to focus on what's around me like the nature, the sky, the views etc.
[--- arms length ---] (-.-) 

^-- where the cat sits

Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 03:43:06 PM
I meditate tho not necessarily when out.  What I've learned is quieting the mind for me is not my goal.  I'll PM you and we'll discuss what techniques I use and some resources.  I can tell you that like anything you have to regularly practice to "master".