Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Hard time sharpening

Offline aikon2014

Hard time sharpening
on: February 20, 2018, 12:08:05 AM
I recently inherited  a Victorinox Foresten from my wifes grandfather, it was used very little and looked almost new. I guess he got it relatively recently before he past. Anyway, I really have a hard time getting it razor/scary sharp. I never have any problems with any of my Leatherman blades or my kitchen blades to get them to scary sharp. I have sharpened knives basically all my life and I worked as a chef for several years and have sharpened more knives than I can count on both diamond stones, japanese waterstones and ceramic and glass stones, as well as systems like spyderco sharpmaker and so on. Im not saying Im the best sharpener (I am most certainly not) but I feel that I have enough experience to getting the blade sharp. I used my Fällkniven DC4 on first the diamond side, then the ceramic side, than I took to the fine ceramic on the Fällkniven CC4 and after that stropping with compound and after that stropping with raw leather. It will barely shave hair.

I got my first SAK when I was like 5-6 years old from my grandfather as a birthday gift and I used it heavily during fishing and sharpened it so many times over the years, but I never remember having any problems getting it sharp (I still have it for nostalgic reasons).

These days I'm a Leatherman person, but it feels as such a waste not to use the forester when I'm fishing since it was my wifes grandfathers. And I hope to give it to one of my future kids in a hope that they will find the outdoors (and hopefully fishing) as rewarding as I do.

Any tips on why I have a hard time getting it sharp?

us Offline Lynn LeFey

• Absolutely No Life Club
  • Any tool is better than nothing. Some not by much
Re: Hard time sharpening
Reply #1 on: February 20, 2018, 12:14:42 AM