Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Rust

Offline Kardar2

• New User
Rust
on: May 28, 2018, 03:33:24 PM
Hello,
I am a swimming pool tech and My leatherman is rusting badly. I am going to drop it in some vinegar today. I thought the leatherman was stainless steel. Even the blade is rusting. What would be a good multi tool to use around water. Thanks

us Offline SteveC

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Re: Rust
Reply #1 on: May 28, 2018, 03:43:45 PM
Welcome to the forum Kadar  :cheers:

Your Leatherman is stainless but even stainless steel will rust if exposed to moist condituions long enough. The pool chemicals you are around may contribute to the problem.

There are some rust preventing wipes you can use to help in extreme conditions

like this

https://www.theruststore.com/Tuf-Cloth-P67.aspx

Some will come along and say get a Swisstool as they don't rust as easily but with a little preventative care you shouldn't have a problem with your Leatherman.

What model do you have ?

us Offline tango44

• VICTORINOX
Reply #2 on: May 28, 2018, 03:47:56 PM
I agree, chemicals and pool chlorine are very corrosive, I will use SEAL 1 to prevent rust.

Enjoy!

Offline Kardar2

• New User
Reply #3 on: May 28, 2018, 04:10:22 PM
Welcome to the forum Kadar  :cheers:

Your Leatherman is stainless but even stainless steel will rust if exposed to moist condituions long enough. The pool chemicals you are around may contribute to the problem.

There are some rust preventing wipes you can use to help in extreme conditions

like this

https://www.theruststore.com/Tuf-Cloth-P67.aspx

Some will come along and say get a Swisstool as they don't rust as easily but with a little preventative care you shouldn't have a problem with your Leatherman.

What model do you have ?
[a wave and surge]

tr Offline ddogu

• No Life Club
Reply #4 on: May 28, 2018, 04:15:02 PM