Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Special Runs?

fuyume · 15 · 1096

us Offline fuyume

Special Runs?
on: December 29, 2021, 04:07:11 PM
Hello, I’m new here, but a long-time Victorinox user. I’ve been using Victorinox knives for probably 30 years and more, so long that I can no longer remember which model was my first. It might have been a Huntsman? In the 1990s-2000s, I carried a black SwissChamp, but I think about 10-15 years ago, I settled on the Rambler as my main EDC knife, paired with a vintage Gerber Harsey AirFrame, or in the backcountry, a fixed-blade Gerber Pro-Guide II. For a short time, I carried a Midnite Minichamp II, but realised I didn’t need half the tools on it, and that the Rambler was everything I needed and nothing I didn’t—it  the perfect SAK to stash in a evening clutch if I have a formal event to attend, and Girl Scout that I will always be, I never go anywhere unprepared.

All these years loving Victorinox products, and it was only a few days ago that I discovered that:
1. There is a distinct difference between the “93 mm” soldier models and the “91 mm” officer models,
2. There is a huge community of people disassembling/reassembling SAKs into custom configurations.

So, now I am thinking strongly about going back to a 93 mm Alox model as my larger EDC knife. The Rambler will always stay in some form, but may be replaced by a custom Alox Rambler. I just haven’t fully decided what tools I want. I think I want one geared towards civilisation carry, which would have the scissors, and one geared toward backcountry use, which would have the saw and reamer.