Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

VEX Robotics

ca Offline Chako

• Absolute Zombie Club
  • Armed with camera and not afraid to use it.
VEX Robotics
on: December 13, 2015, 03:20:29 AM
Some of you may know this, but I was a mentor for a First robotic team a few years ago until the team got disbanded. Then, First was replaced by VEX which is an easier robotics program to get into for schools. First required big bucks, plenty of mentors from outside the school as well as inside, and a full tech shop wing to float the team on. VEX on the other hand doesn't require as much money, mentors, and no need for metal lathes and CNC machines, etc.

I was the official VEX competition photographer for the last few years. This year, I was a team coach at my school.

We got skunked out but the kids had a lot of fun. Here are a few photos that do not show any of the participants.

There were 18 teams at this local competition. One team even came up from the Toronto area. We fielded 4 teams, 142A, 142B, 142C, and 142D. Here are the results at the finals...but the red side won...meaning we won't be sending anyone to the Provincial meet this year.

Here was this years game playing field. The game is called Nothing But Net. The object was to have an autonomous mode first, then have the team drivers control the bots. The goal was to either fling balls into the net (green balls worth 5 points, orange balls worth 10 points each), or to either get them over/under the goal post (green balls worth 1 point, orange balls worth 2 points each). If time was permitted, one bot might drive onto another and the lower bot could lift the other 4", that would be worth 25 points, and if it could lift the bot above the game fence, that would be worth 50 points.

Here is our only lifter bot. In fact, we had the only one at the competition.

And another of our 4 bots.

Our school banners for the robotics program.