Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

One of these things is not like the other

Kraken · 61 · 1804

us Offline Kraken

on: September 24, 2019, 05:01:44 PM
   Does anyone else feel like the minority when they break out their SAK to use it? What I mean is that among my co-workers, I’m known as ‘The Tool Guy’ because I always carry my Explorer and my MiniChamp. I’m a computer technician and found that this tool set between the two models covers most of my on-site needs without having to run back to the shop for a dedicated tool. No one else in my shop carries anything with them. And among my group of friends, I’m the only one that carries a pocket knife, let alone a SAK. They all know to come to me for a cap lifter or scissors or blade or corkscrew if one is not close at hand. My six-year old knows to go for the Cybertool 41 that I keep in the kitchen drawer when we need a screwdriver for the battery compartment on some of his toys, as the bits on this model fit the tiny screws perfectly.

Maybe it was just how I was raised or my own experiences growing up, but I always felt more comfortable if I felt prepared to take care of issues on my own, rather than wait for someone to come to the rescue. In my last job, I was lucky enough to work with a group of like-minded individuals who all carried a multi-tool and a dedicated folder. And most of them did so off work as well. Maybe that is the exception and not the rule nowadays.

How about you guys? Are you the outlier in your group or do you have others that share your mindset. Other than the fine members of this forum, of course.
Semper Fortis

us Offline BClogic

• No Life Club
Re: One of these things is not like the other
Reply #1 on: September 24, 2019, 05:08:05 PM
I’m definitely an outlier. Everyone knows I edc something. Constantly get asked “can I see your knife quick?” Even when they need a screwdriver.