Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Free T2 as SAK replacement?

us Offline gustophersmob

• No Life Club
  • <><
Free T2 as SAK replacement?
on: October 29, 2019, 06:38:47 PM
Howdy!

I’m wondering if I could get some opinions on the Free T2 as a possible SAK replacement?

Now this isn’t strictly a leatherman vs SAK question, just more whether this new tool would satisfy my needs better.

I’ve been carrying a Vic pioneer for over 7 years straight now as my EDC. In general, I find the tool set handy for most of my needs and I like the slim, compact package.  I’m interested in the T2 mainly because it offers a similar tool set, but with one hand opening.  There have been several times where the ability to OHO would have been helpful.  I don’t care as much about the locking features (and in someway would prefer they didn’t lock), but its not necessarily a deal breaker.

There are a couple things that make me reluctant:
1)   Thickness – it is ~18mm vs the ~12mm thickness of the pioneer.  It seems like it would be quite clunky to pocket carry
2)   One hand functionality – several reviews have mentioned it is very hard to OHO the blade, and at least one has said the same of the tools.  What has been the MTO experience?
3)   Plastic- I just don’t like it in my EDC.  That being said, if this is really good in every other area, it may make up for it.
4)   Aesthetics - This is the least concerning and most subjective thing, but it just looks so… industrial :think: Part of it is the slab sides and boxy build, and the plastic doesn’t help.  The pioneer seems like a pocket knife and not just a utilitarian tool

So, that’s basically it.  What are your opinions and thoughts?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 29, 2019, 06:53:33 PM by gustophersmob »
If the trees blew down the wind and no one was around, would the alphabet song really go backwards?

ie Offline Don Pablo

• Zombie Apprentice
  • Yoo-hoo, big summer blowout!