Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Victorinox Mod Wood Saw/Metal File/Opening Layer

00 Offline SAKTaschenmesser

Victorinox Mod Wood Saw/Metal File/Opening Layer
on: October 10, 2020, 06:02:52 PM
I’m considering a three layer mod:

1. Wood saw and micro screwdriver back tool
2. Metal file and chisel back tool
3. Main blade, Combo tool and Phillips back tool

I’m new to modding so I am after a bit of advice. Is it okay to have the wood saw adjacent to a complete scale liner? Is there sufficient clearance provided by the shapes in the scale liner, or is the risk of rubbing too high? Is the saw normally sandwiched  between cut cut down liners for that very reason?

Maybe a dumb question, but I won’t find out unless I ask. I don’t want to go down this route if it is a non-starter.

Thanks for any advice.

spam Offline comis

• Zombie Apprentice
Re: Victorinox Mod Wood Saw/Metal File/Opening Layer
Reply #1 on: October 11, 2020, 04:43:57 PM
Hi, SAKTaschenmesser.

That's a good question, I haven't done this mod, so I can't say I can be 100% sure about this.

But will you be making this mod from reducing layers from a Ranger?  I am thinking the only way to be sure is to actually test fit everything when you are putting things back together on a jig.  And the 3 possible outcome maybe:

1) Woodsaw fit perfectly next to a scale liner, no mod is needed.  Great!
2) Ever so slightly some rubbing, maybe to create a relief by filing a slope on the scale liner or 3)
3) Heavy rub, put the original relief liner right next to the scale liner.  May not be as pretty, but definitely no rub whatsoever. 
4) Heavy rub, another alternative is to create a new 'relief liner' next to the scale liner with a thin copper foil (most liners have width around 0.6-0.8mm) or a spacer next to the wood saw to it stay away from the scale.

Reply #2 on: October 11, 2020, 05:48:43 PM
Hi Comis,

Many thanks for taking the time to respond and your suggestions.