Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

leatherman style 3D print scalpel mod

Offline rfigueroa

• New User
leatherman style 3D print scalpel mod
on: October 01, 2022, 04:27:43 AM
After seeing the mods from Metro Grade Goods and ZapWizard, I was inspired to try and make my own. I used this project to teach myself Fusion360. This my first Leatherman mod and pretty much my first experience with CAD. Just like the ZapWizard and Metro Grade mine is produced through Shapeways. I'm no professional product designer or even an engineer but I think it turned out alright.

I originally was trying to make an xacto blade holder but that didn't really work out like I hoped. If I had started with the scalpel blade, it might not have taken me the 7 months that it did to get to this point. This project was way harder than I thought it'd be. Like I said, I'm not a pro or an engineer, and there are still (many) improvements to be made, but now I have an actually functional prototype made of metal.

It fits standard #10 and #11 scalpel blade. I prefer the #11 but I threw a #10 in there just to show how a bigger one fits.

I opted for a black finish when ordering it from Shapeways. You can see it got scratched off from all the filing I had to do to make the blade fit.