Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Box cutter blade sharpening.

Aloha · 27 · 1293

us Offline Aloha

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
Box cutter blade sharpening.
on: November 22, 2022, 04:15:17 PM
Back in the day, and I'm talking waaaaaaay back I used a simple box cutter when I worked in a warehouse.  I tossed the blades as needed.  Fast forward to just a few days ago, I was thinking about my Gerber EAB and why I have not used it.  I got it from the tomb but the blade was dull.  I went looking for a replacement and before I got too immersed in my search I decided to give it a sharpen. 

Am I the only one?  I get it, the blades are fairly cheap, but why toss?  Mine is screaming sharp again and I'll continue to resharpen as needed. 

* IMG_7020.jpg (Filesize: 61.02 KB)
Esse Quam Videri

us Offline Alan K.

• Thread Killer 2019
  • Absolutely No Life Club
Re: Box cutter blade sharpening.
Reply #1 on: November 22, 2022, 04:39:07 PM
I have stropped disposable blades before, but only when I didn't have replacements handy.

us Offline Aloha

• Global Moderator
  • Point Of No Return
Reply #2 on: November 22, 2022, 04:41:18 PM
I swear I'm not trying to be cheap  :D.  It was really fast on a diamond plate. 
Esse Quam Videri

us Offline Poncho65

• Global Moderator
  • Just Bananas
Reply #3 on: November 22, 2022, 10:32:23 PM
I do sharpen them from time to time myself :cheers:

Sometimes just because ;) but other times it is because I am doing something at work and extra blades aren't close by or easily accessible  :tu: and I understand it isn't just about being cheap or not :D

us Offline nate j

• No Life Club
Reply #4 on: November 22, 2022, 11:11:28 PM
Not something I’ve ever done, but I’ve also never regularly carried a knife of this type.  I can see resharpening the blade in a pinch when replacement blades aren’t handy.