Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

Fenix EO1 at one year plus.

cbl51 · 28 · 4550

us Offline cbl51

• No Life Club
Fenix EO1 at one year plus.
on: November 25, 2012, 04:49:01 PM
I guess I must be a peasant by nature. A year and four months ago, I graduated from an old Gerber sonic I had carried for five years, to a Fenix EO1, and been happy as a clam in the mud. I looked at the Fenix EO5 a while back, but I really didn't need the added lumens when I thought about the long run time. For a edc flashlight, I figure the longer run times are more handy that searing the eye balls out of a racoon at 100 yards. I love the fact that Iuse the heck out of my EO1 and so far in a year and four months, I've changed the battery twice. It's been my main fglashlight through a 4 day power outage last summer, a vaction in Key West, a power outage during a winter blizzard, and every day or night, it looks for dropped items under a table or couch, lights up the very back or the shelf in the basement storeroom while looking for something. I think people have went to nuts over lumens, and are not pacing enough run time. I find too much light at night screws up my night vision. The EO1 is my regular light for the dog's last walk of the night before bed, and it lights up the trail in the woods behind the house vry well, but dose not interfere with my vision when I look off to the side in the woods.

For 12.95, and a insane run time with good light output to see by, I think of the humble EO1 as the Smith and Wesson model 10 of the flashlight world. Gets the job done without a lot of fuss or bells and whistles I don't need like different levels of light or strobes. This little econo light does everything I need a small edc pocket light to do. I would go as far to say that it's become as important to me as my Victorinox clasic on my keying. Both get used every day or night, and both are such that I don't leave the house without them.