Multitool.org Forum
+-

Hello Lurker! Remove this ad and much more by logging in.

What was your very first SAK?

au Offline ReamerPunch

• Thread Killer 2017
  • Zombie Apprentice
  • Born to multitask.
What was your very first SAK?
on: April 10, 2016, 09:46:51 AM
I was about fifteen.
Not a care in the world. One day, my dad stepped into my room. In his hand, a shiny red thing.
"I found this on the street. You want it?"
He held up his hand in front of me and opened his palm. A Swiss Army Knife. For me.
The only person I knew that had one was MacGyver.
I dropped my Batman and reached for it with both hands. So excited.
I took it in my hands.
"Just be careful with it. It's sharp."
I started playing with it. Blades, sharp. Scissors? The thing had scissors! How cool!
A little saw. The tiniest I had ever seen, but very aggressive. Openers, well, I wasn't going to use them for some time, but they were there. Corkscrew? Now you're getting silly. I had no idea what the awl was. But I didn't care. I didn't even know what Victorinox was, let alone that it was in fact a Huntsman.

I only found out about all that a bit over a year ago. My brother bought a Chinese knock-off.
"Look, I got a Swiss Army Knife!"
"That's not a Swiss Army Knife. This is a Swiss Army Knife." I said, and gave him my Huntsman.
And I went on-line to buy a new one. And I discovered the wonderful world of Victorinox.

So, let's hear your stories. What was your first SAK?

gb Offline K9medic

Re: What was your very first SAK?
Reply #1 on: April 10, 2016, 10:46:18 AM
I can’t remember the name of my first one, I suspect it was a Spartan or at lest something similar.  Bought it in 1984, “borrowed” the same year by a supposed friend and never returned (Rusty I haven’t forgot or forgiven and I will find you). 

Replaced it with an issue British Army clasp knife, which I still have.